Situated at the original location of Wang Lang (Rear Palace), in the west of the city, the chedi was built in memorial to Somdet Phra Suriyothai, a royal consort of Phra Mahachakkaraphat of the Ayutthaya Kingdom. When the Burmese army intruded Ayutthaya in 1548, Somdet Phra Suriyothai participated in the fight against the Burmese, helping the king, her husband, so that she was cut to death on the elephant. She was later revered as one of Thailand's heroines.
